Thursday, 17 October 2013

Update

Right, I am aware that I have done hardly nothing on this blog recently, to which I do apologize to the one.. two...or zero people who follow this blog and stuff. But this is for a few reasons;

1) Work is piling up. Fast.
2) Busy with other stuff.
3) General busyness.
4) Still pondering on my top games of each genre posts.

HOWEVER, I plan to catch up with the posts sooner or later, and am planning a new side-post thingy, if you will, called;
Tom's Quick Post of Quickness
Which is essentially just me talking briefly about a game I have played, want to play, or general game stuff, but will be quick and easy to write, and wouldn't consume time for me or the reader.

Tom, out!

Wednesday, 28 August 2013


Right, I originally had my next few posts planned out, but, very recently, Nintendo have just released information on their next console; the 2DS. I actually got into a conversation about this very console with a good friend of mine, and, as a fan of Nintendo and video games, I can't let this topic slide.

Now, there seem to be two reasons that this console has been brought into being;
1) This is a lot cheaper then the 3DS was when it came about a while back, priced around the £200 area. This console has been priced at a cheaper price of £109.99, so the intent is probably so that people can get into the 3DS scene for a cheaper price.
2) This console is called a 2DS, which probably implies that there is no 3D feature available. For those who complained about the 3D feature would probably see this as a benefit rather then a loss.

BUT don't get the wrong idea. I am merely stating the original intent of this console.
I am against this console. I will list my reasons below;

-I agree that the 3DS and it's games can be made cheaper so that people who cannot afford to get into the 3DS. I do, I agree with this idea. But Nintendo have chosen a very bad way of getting this idea off the ground. First of all, WHY MAKE A WHOLE NEW CONSOLE?!
Surely, just reducing the price of the 3DS and it's games would do just as well? Making an entirely new console is not only a silly idea, but it is gonna cost them. It seem to be the exact same problem with the GameBoy Micro all over again! (Haven't heard of the GameBoy Micro? Exactly my point!)

-As the name suggests, the 2DS will no longer have a 3D capability.
Now; WHY WAS THE 3D EVER A ISSUE?!
Seriously. The 3D was a nice touch. Why get rid of it? Also, not having the 3D is not a new feature.
The above picture proves this point. Do you see the part of this 3DS that says "3D Depth Slider"?
With this, you could play the games in 2D.
Now, Nintendo have stated on their website:
"Play 3DS games in 2D"
Okay, now, two things:
1) As I specified, you can do this just as easily with the 3DS. So don't treat it like a new thing.
2) Nintendo are robbing the 3DS of it's... well, 3D.
People apparently had headaches from the 3D of this console. But, the 3D Depth Slider is there for a reason; To stop you from being exposed to the 3D for too long. There were also Parental Controls for parents to stop their child from being overly exposed to the 3D.
So, no. Saying that the 2D is a new, and exciting feature just doesn't cut it.

Nintendo, your answer is simple; merely make the 3DS cheaper and more accessible for gamers is the answer to your problem. There is no need to make people pay for a higher quality system; that's what the 3DS XL was for. Don't make a punishment for the people who have trouble affording a 3DS by making a worse version for them to have. Just make the original system cheaper for them, and all will be happy. Don't make a new console.

Right, sorry for the long post!
Tom, Out!

Entry 1: Sports



Entry 1) Sports

I thought I’d get this one out of the way first, because, well, to be honest? I find most of them very pointless. Why play a video game of something that can very, very easily done outside? To this day, I’ve never seen the appeal to them, particularly the FIFA video game franchise.

BUT, there are a few games within this genre that I enjoy. Oh, not because they capture the sport in its entirety, but because they realize that it is a video game, and take advantage of it, allowing other factors apart from how to play the game are taken into account, like items, special abilities, and downright funniness.

To be honest, very little sports games have entertained me, but, like I said, there are some good ones out there that add other features to make an enjoyable experience.
The one sports game that seems to never fail to entertain me is;
Mario Smash Football.


Oh, what’s that I hear you say? This isn’t a real sports game? Well, it is. It’s got everything football has… a ball… and someone to kick it!
Just Nintendo decided to make the game more… entertaining. For example, they threw in like bombs, a massive shell that freezes people, and electric fences to take advantage of the fact that this was indeed a video game, and in the world of gaming, anything goes.
While I see people give in their FIFA games in to charity shops, and they go up for a £1 per copy, my copy of Mario Smash Football has been with me for.. well, as long as I’ve had it, and it never fails to entertain me to this day. The sensation of pushing a random player into an electric fence has never been so sweet…
(Disclaimer: The above is a joke. This blog does not encourage you to push your friends into electric fences. Doing so will result in some… SHOCKING RESULTS!)

Next up, stay tuned for my top Shoot ‘em Up!

Tom, out!

My first topic?



So What Will I Talk About First?!


Well, I have pondered this, and have decided that I shall make a series of posts, each listing my favourite of each genre of gaming. Personally, I think this is a brilliant idea, so that you guys/gals/other can get a general idea of my tastes in games. I will also go through the trouble of specifying WHY I think these games are amongst the best these genres have to offer.

(Note: These are based on games I have played. Sadly, I have not played every game in existence, and the reason many games may not be on the list is due to not having played that game. Therefore, all the games I mention in the following posts are given good reason to be my favourite of that genre.)

I have decided to call these series of posts:
TOM’S SUPER STAR GAMES- 1st EDITION!

So anyway, the genres will be posted in this order :
(Not particularly in order of preference)
Sport (There is only one game in this category that I like)
Shoot’em up
Racing
Simulation
Platformer
Fighter
Puzzle
Strategy
RPG/Adventure (I’m putting these two in the same section, as both are very broad genres)
Other  (This is for a game I’m not sure what genre to put it under, but know it MUST be mentioned)

So yeah. Now you have something to look forward to!

Tom, out!

Tuesday, 27 August 2013

MY FIRST POST!



So what is this?


So I’ve been fairly bored recently. And, well, I’ve also been thinking about having a blog for some time. So I thought; “Hey, why not kill two birds with one stone?”
(Disclaimer: No birds were killed in the making of this post!)
But I can’t just make a post out of nothing now, can I? I need some kinda topic to write about. Something I feel strongly about. And then it occurred to me; video games.
So I figured I’d write about my thoughts and opinions on video games and stuff!

Cause no one has definitely done that before…. Right?  

So on this blog, I’ll be writing about my thoughts on many things video game related, be it gameplay, a current topic amongst gamers, or even gaming history. So basically, video games in general.

But, before I go on, a few things must be made clear on my tastes in gaming:
1) My favorite gaming company is Nintendo, and has been for many years.
2) My favorite genre of games is RPG’s.
3) Despite being a Nintendo fan, many of my top games are RPG’s from Square Enix/Square Soft.
4) My chances of giving positive opinions on games like Call of Duty or FIFA are VERY slim.
Just some things you should keep in mind whenever you read a post of mine.

However, I believe that, when it comes to the wide variety of video games that are available to the many gamers out there, I’d like to think that we are each entitled to our own opinion on our tastes
in video games, and is kind of another reason I decided to make this blog; to voice my own opinion on the thing I feel passionate about. But, feel free to disagree! I ain’t holding you at gunpoint or anything.

So yeah. Feel free to read this blog whenever, as I’ll be posting on a leisurely basis myself!

Tom out!